A Poem – Yes.

After investing a lot of time devoted to ‘constructing’ and developing some sort of ‘goal’ for this blog – I have given up.    I am choosing to think about no borders in terms of expression.  As a result, today I am sharing a poem.  It is one the closest to me and has been like a friend for many years, actually.    The title is ‘When I have fears’ by John Keats.   I won’t recite the whole poem, as it is on the back of my hand but instead more meaningful parts.  To my understanding, he wrote the poem as he struggled with TB and was quite young when he passed.   This poem had much to do with his acceptance of death and darkness.

When I have fears that I may cease to be, before my pen has gleaned my teeming brain, before high-piled books, in charact’ry.

And when I feel, fair creature of an hour, That I shall never look upon thee more, Never have relish in the faery power of unreflecting love! –

then on the shore Of the wide world I stand alone, and think

Till Love and Fame to nothingness do sink.

Thank you Monika Lee for sharing this with me in your  lecture.  I will never forget you taking us out for walks in February in the forest in behind Brescia to gain the stillness of the cold and the warmth of the words we brought to each other.

Leave a Reply

